• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Christmas Fun & Upcoming Race!

Greetings from Wisconsin!  Here’s a quick round-up of our Christmas activities…

Wednesday night, we had a bar night at New Holland Brewing Co. with a bunch of our friends from high school and from Mike’s fraternity.

Clearly, things got a bit crazy as the evning went on.  🙂

Christmas Eve, I spent the afternoon shopping and lunch at Panera with my mom, then wrapping presents with Mike at my parents’ house.  During this time, my dad decided to put a bunch of potato peels down our garbage disposal; it of course clogged up, and he and Mike spent about two hours trying to fix this!  Then end result was having no sink for Christmas.

My parents’ house was perfectly decorated, as always.

These are the “fancy” holiday decorations.  We keep the silly stuff like the Star Trek themed tree in our family room downstairs.  😉

After church on Christmas Eve, we cooked up a storm:

My mom put on quite the spread:

We had a pretty big group for our annual pajama dinner:  myself and Mike, my parents and sister, and Mike’s parents and brother.  We had a big dinner that included turkey, mashed potatoes, broccoli, zucchini with peppers and onions, stuffing, and rolls.  I only took a picture of my dessert:

Haagen Dasz “five” mint ice cream and chocolate syrup in my mom’s pretty holly cups.  (Secret: they came from Arby’s a long time ago!

Christmas day, Mike and I started at my parents’ house.  I put on some festiva holiday garb, which included my jingle bell reindeer antlers.

The stockings, of course, were hung by the fire with care:

My dad’s extended family came over that afternoon, and my mom put on another spread:

She kept it casual for a group of over 20 people:  sloppy joes and leftover turkey subs on buns, toppings, and potato chips.  She also made these snowballs:

I didn’t eat much at this gathering – I had had a huge bowl of oatmeal for breakfast and was saving my stomach for dinner at Mike’s parents’ house.  I did, however, take a snowball with me.  I haven’t eaten it yet, but I’m sure it’ll be yummy.

After Christmas at my house, we drove the five blocks back to Mike’s parents’ house for Christmas with them!  Mike’s mom put on a big Christmas dinner, too.  (No pictures because I was fading fast by this point!)  Dinner with them includedturkey, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, homemade applesauce, stuffing, and rolls.  By this point in our Christmas-ing, I had eaten way too much and still had Wisconsin Christmas to go!

The day after Christmas, we jumped in the car with Mike’s family (actually, two cars) and headed to Waupun, Wisconsin where his grandparents live.  Another spread of holiday treats awaited!

I snacked most of the afternoon on carrots, broccoli, and ranch dip; rye chips; cheese and crackers; and plenty of sugar and gingerbread cookies.  Then, his grandma served up a huge dinner involving pork loin, homemade applesauce, peas and onions, corn, mashed potatoes, and crescent rolls.  I ate a pretty light meal, given my hevy snacking all afternoon.  The women in our families really are masters of holiday treats, and I need to get some of their recipes!

Whew.  That was a lot of Christmas-ing!  We’re still in Wisconsin, relaxing and hanging out with his family.

Running Update

I never did get in my 11-miler this Saturday because we left for Wisconsin really early.  I am hoping to accomplish it early this week back in Michigan because I hate to miss a long run.  I am planning a short run for Monday night, so maybe the 11-miler will happen on Wednesday.

I got some awesome running related Christmas gifts!  Here’s a quick list:

  • A pink ankle Road ID!  I am so excited about this.  The Husband ordered it for me so I can stay safe while running.
  • A big bag of Clif bars and GU Chomps, also from the Husband. 
  • Some blogging and photography stuff for my running blog: a camera case, new and bigger flash drive, and one of those bendy tripod things.
  • A coupon for a massage after my next run.  This was from Mike’s parents, and I can’t wait to use it this week!

I really am spoiled, especially when it comes to running accessories.  🙂

I have an upcoming race!  I am going to do the New Year’s Eve Run, Walk, and Ramble event in Downtown Holland on New Year’s Eve!  This event is a 5k fun run (meaning that it is untimed) meant to kick off the new year.  It’s at 6:00 P.M., so I can do the run, shower, and get ready to go out for the evening!  I haven’t had luck finding friends or family members to run with me, but hopefully the Husband and my parents will come watch.

