• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Another Snowy Run

We are back in Holland!  I had lots of fun with Mike’s family in Wisconsin, but I’m also glad to get back to Michigan and spend some more time with my family and friends before it’s back to Florida on Friday.

Our last day in Wisconsin was spent relaxing – I mostly read while everyone watched the Green Bay Packers game, and then we all went out to eat.

I rode back today with Mike and his brother, Andy.

The farms of Wisconsin have changed a lot since I last visited Mike’s grandparents in September 2007 – many of the fields are now dotted with wind turbines!

Back in Holland, I was feeling antsy after sitting in a car all day and took off on a run.

Run Stats:

  • Distance:  2.6 miles
  • Time:  31:30
  • Run 2/walk 1

It was bitter cold outside today, but I kept warm!  I changed my strategy slightly.  My toes were cold on my last run, so instead of regular running socks, I wore my SmartWool socks today and kept toasty warm!  Also, I layered a short sleeve running shirt, half zip, and long sleeve cotton t-shirt instead of a fleece on top, and that worked out really well!  I wasn’t as sweaty as last time.  I think this will be my wardrobe strategy for my 5k on New Year’s Eve.

Have a great night, everyone!

