• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?

Happy New Year’s Eve!  What are my plans, you ask?  Well!  I normally do nothing for NYE.  Literally.  The last time I had “plans” for New Year’s Eve was in 1999 when I went to Indiana to visit a friend.  Normally, I just stay in and hang out with my mom.  🙂  Today, however….

  • I am doing a New Year’s Eve Fun Run 5k in Downtown Holland!  I already picked up my super cute navy blue Brooks Podium long sleeve tech shirt.  Yay!  I am so excited that I began my year by running (I started in January 7, 2009) and I will end my year with running.
  • We are going to a friend’s beach house (we live very near Lake Michigan) to hang out and stay the night.  There will be food, wine, card games, and brunch with minosas in the morning.  I’m so glad this has sprung up; I like a low-key get together, and some of my favorite people will be there!  Also, I might learn how to play euchre, a midwest card game tradition which I have never played.

Where have a been the past few days?  I’ve been a blogging slacker once again because I’ve been enjoying the company of friends and family!  I have been lunching and shopping with my friend/roommate/sorority sister Erin, having dinner with my friend/former cheerleading teammate/fellow running enthusiast Michelle, and shopping/lunching with my mom.

I have also been considering some New Year’s Resolutions.  I’m not normally a resolution person.  I think too many people wait to make changes on NYE instead of making changes right away.  For example, this past April I wanted to begin eating healthier, so I began that day instead of waiting for a milestone like January 1 to change my habits.  Also, starting to run this January was definitely NOT a resolution – I didn’t plan it at all!  If you’ve read my running journey page, you’ll know that my desire to run stemmed from a random day trip to Disney’s Animal Kingdom.  I also feel that resolutions don’t really stick.  Too many people set unattainable goals or nonspecific goals and become discouraged.

Anyway, I am making a few this year.  At my job, we regularly write S.M.A.R.T. goals, and if I remember correctly, that stands for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely.  Doing this keeps your goals from entering that nonspecific or unattainable realm.  So, I’ll try to make my resolutions S.MA.R.T., too!

Things I Want to Do in 2010:

Running Resolutions:

  1. Finish a half marathon in the spring and a full marathon in the fall or winter
  2. Compete in a team long-distance relay race in the spring or summer
  3. Run in an event with the Husband any time this year
  4. Improve my 10k time by six minutes by the end of the year

Professional Resolution:

  1. Take the GRE and apply to graduate school (scary!) by the end of the year
  2. Finish my Florida Reading Endorsement (I have one more class to take) by May

Health Resolutions:

  1. Continue to improve my eating habits, particularly when traveling this summer and on Michigan trips, by engaging in research before traveling and making plans that I can/will/do actually stick to.
  2. Incorporate regular strength training into my fitness routine (2 days per week)
  3. Incorporate a new form of cardio cross training (biking, swimming, etc.) into my fitness routine (1 day per week)

Personal Resolutions:

  1. Plan an execute an awesome summer vacation with the Husband (this is already in the works) because I didn’t travel anywhere cool in 2009.  (I’ve been to Michigan three times and also to Iowa for a wedding.  This was all wonderful, but I want to go to more places!)
  2. Keep in touch with my friends better by arranging monthly phone dates.
  3. Use an envelope system to pre-plan spending for groceries, eating out, and entertainment (three areas where we could improve our habits.)

There.  Simple and S.M.A.R.T.

I better get going now – the Husband wants my opinions on what to buy for the NYE gathering tonight and I need to pack my overnight bag.  Have a great final day of 2009 and first day of 2010 everyone!

Anyone want to share their own New Year’s Resolutions?

