• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Classroom Chores and Muffins

I had three goals for the day:

  1. Make it through the first day back at school without having a freak out.
  2. Rearrange the furniture in my classroom.
  3. Procure 75 blue two-pocket folders with fasteners to use as readers’ notebooks.

I had success on all three fronts!  Here’s a picture of my rearranged shelves:

One of the wooden shelves and the metal shelf were in two different locations around the room, with only the two other wooden shelves by the reading carpet.  All better now!  It’s created a nice little reading nook, and is perfectly separated from the computer tables.

It took me two office supply stores and an awesome Office Depot employee named Charles to find my 75 folders, but I got them!  Next year, I’ll put it on the supply list at the beginning of the year and have the kids buy them.  🙂

Okay, this is veering into teacher blog land again!  On the running front, I’m off again today because I’m entirely too busy.  I’m planning a morning yoga workout for tomorrow.

Today’s eats:

  • Breakfast:  Oatmeal with brown sugar, Craisins, almonds, and coconut
  • Morning snack:  Walnut chocolate chip muffin that I baked last night (see below)
  • Lunch:  Vegetable beef soup with pretzels and hummus; 4 Hershey Kisses
  • Afternoon snack:  Banana bran muffin; popcorn
  • Post-folder shopping snack:  Walnut chocolate chip muffin
  • Dinner:  Whole wheat penne with chicken, onions, sugar snap peas, broccoli, and Newman’s Own alfredo sauce

And I am tentatively planning some Edy’s peppermint ice cream for dessert!  🙂

Rewind to yesterday…

I spent a good part of the day (after unpacking from two weeks in Michigan) doing this:

Our house lacks a real heating element, so we were rocking a fire most of the day.  There’s a little gas heater in the bedroom that we turned on last night, too!

Mainly to keep warm yesterday evening, I baked some walnut chocolate chip muffins.  I used the same Betty Crocker muffin recipe that I used to make cranberry orange muffins for work a few weeks ago, but added walnuts and chocolate chips instead of the fruit.

I’m generally pleased with the results, but I think I need to find some healthier muffin recipes because this recipe uses a lot of white flour and sugar.

I’m off for an evening of putting away dishes, sorting two weeks worth of mail, and reading.  See you tomorrow!

