• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Sunday: Out for Breakfast and Into Work

Happy Sunday, everyone!  I’m still recovering from my frigid 12-miler yesterday.  I’ve read a few accounts from people who ran yesterday’s Disney Half Marathon, and I know how they feel!

Speaking of Disney’s Marathon Weekend, congratulations to everyone from ROTE and WISH, all my fellow bloggers, and everyone else who completed one of the races this weekend.  Meghann from Inner Workings of a College Graduate already has her marathon re-cap posted – it’s a great read!

I’m looking forward to reading all the Disney reports; they are getting me totally psyched up for the Princess Half Marathon in March!  After all, a trip to Disney’s Animal Kingdom one year ago is what prompted me to start running in the first place!

So, what did I do today, you ask?

Well, this morning we grabbed breakfast and a newspaper at Word of Mouth, our favorite local eatery.

This place is always packed on Sundays, and we always run into the same people from the neighborhood.  We kind of know all the staff there, too.  It’s great to have “our” own neighborhood place!

My favorite thing to order at Word of Mouth is oatmeal with bananas and brown sugar, with an English muffin on the side.  This is my post-run stand-by at WoM, since we go there on Saturdays after my long runs all the time!

After breakfast and some chores around the house (dishes, laundry), I did something that I try to do only a few times every year:  I went to school to work in my classroom for a few hours.  I am admittedly behind on grading (all 75 of my students just turned in book reviews that need scoring) and need to write lots of plans and set up stations.  I wasn’t feeling very motivated, but I put some music on my Pandora station and got down to business.  My pace was slow and muddled, but I got a few things done!

I then proceeded to stop by Barnes & Noble, come home and snack on pizza rolls (my weakness) while reading marathon posts, and then make a huge pot of chili.  Right now, we’ve got a fire in the fireplace and Arrested Development on the TV – makes for a good evening!

Plans for tomorrow:

  • Yoga in the morning, if I can get up early.
  • Get to work early; score some more book reviews
  • Leave work by 4:30
  • Library Monday in the evening with the Husband!

Have a wonderful Sunday night, everyone!

