• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Bike Workout at the Gym

I’m going to make this post super quick!

Today’s Eats

  • Breakfast:  Oatmeal!  As always, this included:
    • 1/2 cup milk
    • 1/2 cup water
    • 1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal
    • 1 tbs. maple syrup
    • 2 tsp. brown sugar
    • Slivered almonds and coconut for topping
  • Morning snack:  Carrots with ranch.  I didn’t eat many because I got busy teaching about FCAT key words.
  • Lunch:  Campbell’s V8 mixed vegetable soup.  Surprisingly, I don’t find this soup too salty.  I liked this brand (the kind in boxes) back when it was Campbell’s Premium or something like that, and I may try the V8 soups again.  It wasn’t too bad!  Also, I had two slices of Pepperidge Farm cinnamon swirl bread, toasted.
  • Afternoon snack:  Handful of pretzel chips; half a carrot cake Clif bar before the gym
  • Dinner:  Bowl of homemade chili with cheddar cheese and green onions for topping, and tortilla chips for dipping.  Plus two M&M cookies (dough purchased from cheerleading fundraiser; Husband is making it all the time now) for dessert!

Workout

I hit the gym for a non-running workout today since my hip is still giving me some pain.  I was in a time crunch because of cheerleading practice, grading essays, and wanting to be home by 7:00.  Here’s what I did:

  • 30 minutes on the bike; random workout level 6?  I think.  Read some Harry Potter to pass the time.  (Nerd.)
  • 20 sit-ups and 20 twist-ups on the bosu ball with a 6–pound weight
  • 30 second plank
  • LOTS of leg and hip stretching
  • Rolled my IT band (both legs) on the foam roller.  PAIN, but in a good way. 

My hips and legs are feelin’ great right!  If my shoes dry out (I wore old running shoes today) I should be running again on Wednesday.

See you tomorrow!  (Pictures are coming back soon.  I feel like my meals are boring lately.  I like them, but you are probably bored.)

