• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Teacher Talk: My Tuesday Night Class

Teacher talk time!  Since January 2007, I have been working on earning my Florida reading endorsement.  This is basically a “stamp” on my teacher certification stating that I have completed the six competency courses in reading education.  I have already done the first five, which have centered around understanding how humans acquire cognition and language, interpreting educational data and applying it to instruction, and differentiating reading instruction in the classroom.  Super fun, right?

This semester, I am taking the sixth and final competency, which largely involves demonstrating your understanding and application of the principals.  So, I have a three-hour class on several Tuesdays between now and May, and I have to spend a lot of time reading articles and videotaping myself teaching lessons for critique.

Bottom line, I am SUPER busy and was in a three-hour class today!

My hectic schedule left no time for a creative breakfast.  Luckily, I love oatmeal!  My old standby:  1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup oats, 1 tbsp. maple syrup, 2 tsp. brown sugar, almonds and coconut for toppings.

Lunch was a more creative dinner.  Last night, I mixed up some leftover whole wheat pasta and Parmesan sauce, steamed broccoli, and roasted chicken breast:

GEDC2504

Yummy and filling.  I also had two more M&M cookies:  (So grateful that the Husband is adept at scooping cookie dough onto a baking sheet!  I like that he keeps making these cookies.)

GEDC2507

No morning or afternoon snacks were had – when I arrived home at 8:00, I was starving!  Luckily, the Husband made some brinner:  I had a plate of hash browns with two slices of bacon, and then went back for two pancakes!

It’s late and I still have things to do around the house, so I’m out!  My number one goal for tomorrow (outside of school stuff, that is) is to RUN!

