• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Peanut Butter Question

Question for you natural peanut butter eaters:  What’s your method for mixing in the oil on top?

I seriously make a huge mess every time I do this!  Also, I don’t think I mix it well enough because the bottom 1/3 of my peanut butter is always really dry and crumbly.

Today, I was opening a new jar I tried pouring half the jar into a bowl to mix.  I still don’t feel it got mixed well enough.  Maybe I need to throw it all into a mixing bowl?

Tips, please!

Today’s Eats

As you might have guessed based on the above peanut butter rant, I had peanut butter for breakfast!  Two slices of whole wheat toast with peanut butter, to be more specific.  Despite my PB woes, I still love 365 Organics natural peanut butter from Whole Foods!  It’s one of the products I always buy there because it’s a good deal.

Morning snack = unpictured carrots and ranch.  Crunchy!

Last night, we ventured out to Word of Mouth, the restaurant down the street, to grab a quick bite.  I wasn’t super hungry after my afternoon at Panera, so I ordered the appetizer chicken quesadilla:

GEDC2516

Not only was this thing huge, it was also amazing!  The filling included chicken, cheese, onions, and red peppers, and I have no idea what was going on with the tortilla, but it had a great flavor and crunch.  This picture was taken after I ate 1/4 of it.  It was so gooey and spicy that I wanted to eat more, but it was super filling and I limited myself to one piece.

Two of the leftover pieces made a great lunch today:

GEDC2517

This quesadilla was just as good after it was microwaved!  I’m looking forward to eating the last piece tomorrow!

Afternoon snack = bag of microwave popcorn.  It’s my stand-by snack at school when I need to eat fast!

Workout

I rocked another nonrunning workout today.  At the gym, I spent 30 minutes on the elliptical doing a random hill workout and reading.    I broke a serious sweat, so I think I still had a good cardio workout without running.

I’m looking forward to my 4–miler on Saturday; it’s a “rest week” for my training program.  Hurray for rest weeks!

The Husband is currently heating up a bowl of chili for me, and then we’re going to veg out and watch TV.

