• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

13.1 + 13.1 = 26.2

I have a secret that I have been keeping from you, blog readers.

Well, not so much a secret as plans that have been coming together for a while and just got finalized today.

Guess what I’m going to do?

Back to back half marathons!

GEDC2349

It’ll be FUN, right?!

I’m sure everyone knows by now that I am registered for the Disney Princess Half Marathon on March 7, 2010.

The Galloway training group I run with from Fleet Feet Sarasota is technically a training group for the Sarasota Half Marathon on Sunday, March 14, 2010.  Well, one of my running partners, Sue, was easily talked into doing the Princess instead.  Whitney, my other running partner, really still wanted to do the Sarasota Half.  So, we all decided to just do both!

One of the owners of Fleet Feet Sarasota, Pat, did the Marine Corps Marathon this year and one week later ran the NYC Marathon.  So, inspired by her, we figure that we can do two half marathons that are a week apart.  Her advice?  Get a massage in the middle of the week in between!

I know I can do this because, as Pat said, we’ll be really well-training after a six-month program, and interval running keeps our legs from getting totally burnt out.

So what’s the rest of our training schedule?  After all, this race is just around the corner!

  • January 24:  13 miles
  • January 30:  4 miles
  • February 6:  4 or 4 miles
  • February 13:  14 miles (my last long run)
  • February 20:  7 miles (some people are going 15 this week, but I plan to take it easy)
  • February 27:  4 miles

Here’s another bit of exciting running news:  my friend Karen started running in December and is running Disney’s Royal Family 5k! 

N503218426_1176202_7828

That’s Karen in the middle.  I’m so proud of her running!

This race is the day before the Princess Half and holds a special place in my heart because it was my first race.

2009-03 (Mar) 020

I’m not going to run in this 5k because of the money I’m spending on the Sarasota Half, but I’m going to take the bus to the start/finish line and be there when she finishes to cheer her on.  Go Karen!  She’s also thinking about running her first half marathon at Disney in the fall, so clearly she’s been bitten by the running bug!

Whew.  So, that’s a lot happening in about a week:  going to Disney, watching Karen finish her first race, running my first half marathon, and doing my second a week later.  Good thing I have an amazing group of fellow runners to keep me motivated!!

Today’s Run

It’s warm in Florida again, and also humid, so I felt sweaty and sluggish today.  It was a great run, though!  Good company and a short route.

  • Distance:  4 miles
  • Time:  50:00
  • Run 2/walk 1

All my usual Galloway people were there and talk the whole time was about how the weather this week was so much better than last!

My schedule today is full of chores (farmer’s market, cleaning, bill paying) so I’m going to get started on that!

Anyone else ever done back-to-back half marathons?  Any advice to offer?

2 Responses

  1. What an exciting goal for you!! Our friend at church Brett Holleman just ran a marathon at Disney that was a fundraiser for a childhood cancer. He made his fund raising goal AND his time goal, thanks to a regular marathoner who ran with him and kept him on target for time/food stuff.

  2. I found your blog from the DIS Wish threads…

    I just have to say that our stories are almost exactly alike! How funny! I was a runner back in high school but it was only 1-2 mile runs. In 2009, I ended up at Disney for their Marathon weekend (not on purpose) and that inspired me to start running so I trained for the Disney World half this year!! (2010) My goal is also to run the full next year….too funny!

    Good luck in the Princess! Looks like a TON of fun!!!! :0) I’m thinking of doing the wine and dine in the fall!

Comments are closed.

