• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Winter Warrior Run with Mizuno

I had the opportunity to try out some Mizuno shoes at Fleet Feet Sarasota tonight as part of their Winter Warrior series.

Mizuno had their “Run With Us” running bus there tonight, fitting everyone for shoes.

I did a 3–miler in some Mizuno Wave Nirvana shoes:

GEDC2533

Here’s what the Mizuno website says about this shoe:

SmoothRide Engineered, Full-length Composite Double Fan Wave provides superior protection while offering excellent support to the moderately overpronating foot. Incorporating the latest advancements in Dynamotion Fit allows for unparalleled fit while in motion. Combination solid rubber/blown rubber forefoot outsole design for cushioning, flexibility, and durability.”

I was pretty happy with this shoe!  I liked the footbed and the art support.  They felt springy, or at least more springy than my worn-out New Balance 1225s which badly need replacing.  (Like, this week.  It’s baaaaad.)

My only issue was that I ran in a 9, but felt I needed a 9.5.  (I have long and skinny feet.  They’re the only part of me that fits that description!)  I put on a 9.5 when I got back and they were good.

It was so cool of Mizuno to fit everyone for shoes and let us run in them!  On top of that, they gave everyone a Mizuno tech shirt!  If the “Run With Us” bus is every in your area, you should totally check it out.  (There is a schedule on the website.)

I am seriously considering purchasing Wave Nirvanas in lieu of a new pair of NB 1225s now.  Decisions, decisions!

4 Responses

  1. I run in Mizunos! Love them!

  2. Hey Allison! Let me just start by saying you are too cute for your own good. Hehe. πŸ™‚ Oh, by the way, this is Josh’s sister.

    I’m so stoked for you in your half marathon training! I am currently doing the same thing and having a blast! KEEP IT UP!

    So I’m not sure whether you were recommended to wear a stability or motion control shoe, but Brooks is also a great brand to check out! I used to run in Mizunos, but since finding Brooks I would never change. We have a Fleet Feet up here in Raleigh, and from what I hear they are great. Hey, it would be cool just to compare before you make your investment! Because you know it is! πŸ™‚

    Sorry I am so wordy, but keep moving and rock on! πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Jenn! I’m so glad you found the blog. I’m definitely going to have to give Brooks a try. I usually run in a stability shoe. I think Fleet Feet carries Brooks, so I’ll try to get in some this weekend before or after my run. Thanks for the advice!

  4. I see you got Saucony! Also a great brand! Congrats on your long run this weekend. Can’t wait ’til I get to that point. I did 8.5 yesterday, felt great, and have no side effects today! πŸ™‚

    Keep it up!

Comments are closed.

