• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Movie News

I’m a pretty regular NPR listener and I often hear stories that pique my interest.  Today, there was a short piece on a documentary project that is being unveiled at the Sundance Film Festival this week.

As reported in this New York Times article, Glaxo Smith Kline, a pharmaceutical company, is pairing up with a nonprofit organization to create a documentary on the, “unhealthy relationships people have with food.”

The NYT article bills the upcoming documentary as “An Inconvenient Truth” for food: maybe not everyone will see it, but it will get people thinking and talking about food, nutrition, and obesity.

From the article:

“The partners say they hope to emulate “An Inconvenient Truth,” Al Gore’s celebrated 2006 documentary on climate change. It cost an estimated $1.5 million to produce and sold $50 million in tickets worldwide. Ms. Ferdinando summarized the film as “the ‘Inconvenient Truth’ of mindless eating,” with the story taking a “behind-closed-doors, fly-on-the-wall” approach that highlights unhealthy relationships people have with food.”

Sounds good, right?  A nonprofit backed by a company with lots of money producing a film that might prompt people toward healthier lifestyles, right?

Here’s the only catch:  Glaxo Smith Kline is the maker of the FDA approved diet pill Alli.  Although there are a number of Alli success stories out there, it seems there are a number of side effects as well.  And apart from that: it is ethical for the makers of a diet pill to finance a documentary about eating?  Is there a chance that this film will be, as the NYT writes a, “controversial strategy to increase interest in a weight-loss drug”?

I’ll admit that I recently did some research about Alli because, as I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been running for one year and completely changed my eating habits about seven years ago and haven’t lost weight or seen much of a change in my body.  However, I don’t run and eat healthy for weight loss reasons; clearly, my body has found it’s “feel great weight” (like Tina at Carrots ‘N’ Cake writes) where I’m meant to be.  In general, I have pretty negative feelings toward diet pills.  Diets and pills are not solutions; long-term lifestyle changes are!

So, how will this documentary turn out?  Only time will tell; the film isn’t in production and a budget hasn’t been announced.  The team will be naming a director at Sundance this week, so keep an eye out for news stories about this issue!

