• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Reviews: Saucony Shoes and Bondi Band

(I know I promised reviews on Sunday night, but the post didn’t post and I was too wrapped up in a PBS adaptation of “Emma” to check!  Here they are for your Monday enjoyment.)

Review: Saucony Omni 8

Here’s what I have to say first: I do not recommend breaking in new shoes on a 13 mile run.  I’m just sayin’.

GEDC2534

The Good:  These shoes were comfortable and supportive.  I had no shin splint pain today.  Hip tightness set in around mile 7, but that’s to be expected and it was nothing like the pain I’ve had in my other shoes lately.  My old PFS in my right knee was a bit of a problem from about mile 10 to the end, but again, normal and not as bad as it was.  I feel like these shoes keep me relatively pain free!

The Bad:  It was better to wear the new shoes than the old ones today, but given a choice, I would have broken in the shoes on some short runs!  The left shoe rubbed bad on the back of my ankle, which was quite painful.  I think I didn’t have it tied tight enough.  Both shoes gave me BAD blisters: two big ones on each foot, and a couple small ones.  This shouldn’t be a long-term problem, though.

Overall, I’m really happy with my shoe purchase.  Once my blisters go away, I’ll be wearing them all the time!

Review: Bondi Bands

I have read both positive and negative accounts of Bondi Bands.  Some people love them and swear by them, others say they look cute but don’t stay on.  Here’s my take!

GEDC2536

I wore a pink Bondi Band (not pictured) yesterday for hanging around the house and on a short bike ride to Blockbuster as a “test run.”  It was comfortable, rarely needed adjusting, and kept stray hair from my pigtails out of my face.

I broke in the blue Bondi Band on this morning’s run, but I wore it with a ponytail instead of the pictured pigtails.  At the beginning of the run, it slipped out, but after that, it stayed put really well for 13 miles!

I think I still like my trusty Adidas hat the best, but the Bondi Band was cute, kept my hair back (I also wore another stretchy athletic heaband under it), and kept the sweat out of my eyes.  I was very happy with the product!

2 Responses

  1. I’ve heard good things about Saucony! I’m contemplating making them my next shoe purchase… I’m getting nervous that my tennis shoe collection is soon going to outshine my heel collection… tragic yet awesome.

  2. Solution: shoe shopping. 😉

    I have definitely made up for my running shoe habit by putting increased effort and money into buying new cute shoes as well! It’s all about balance, right?

Comments are closed.

