• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Blister Banter

Man, those 13 miles really did a number on my feet!  As I mentioned in the review of my new Saucony shoes, breaking in a new pair of running shoes on a 13–mile run is not a great idea.  I am still experiencing a few issues:  a bloody, sore spot on the back of my left ankle; several blisters on each foot; and a pain down the side of my right foot if I walk on it after resting for a while.

I did some research on blisters today (my life is super exciting, I know).  I came across a Runner’s World article reviewing several blister-related products.  If you’re new to running, or just bought a new pair of running shoes, here are some ways to avoid ending up like me:

  • Buy properly sized running shoes.  In general, most experts guide you to running shoes that are a 1/2 size larger than your normal shoes.  When in doubt, of course, get fitted!
  • Buy the right socks!  Get some socks made from synthetic fabrics (not cotton!) that are specifically made for running.  Bonus points if they have no seams.  You don’t have to spend a lot of money, either.  I regularly run in ProSpirit socks from Target and have never had a problem (until the new shoes).
  • Use a little bit of Body Glide on areas of your foot that you know are prone to blisters.
  • Break in new running shoes on a short run.  Wear them around your house, walk in them, and run in them for no more than a couple miles.  Trust me.
  • If you do get some blisters or sore spots, use moleskin or athletic tape to cover them up and prevent further irritation.

This week, I’ve been trying to wear comfortable shoes that don’t irritate any areas of my feet, and I have been noticing improvement.  Luckily my schedule run this weekend is only 4 miles!

Okay, foot pain is not a fun topic but it’s something we all deal with as runners!

Now I’ve got a baked ziti in the oven (or is it just ziti until it comes out of the oven?) and it’s dinner time.  To make up for the lack of pictures in this post (did you really want to see my blisters?!) I leave you with a dinner-related quote from my favorite movie:

6 Responses

  1. Vaseline works very well. Put it between your foot and the sock as well as between the sock and the shoe. Good luck with them!

    – Kloé

  2. Good call on no blister photos!!

  3. Hello from a new follower! Thanks for posting the info about blisters. I’ve been needing some blister remedies. I guess it’s time to purchase some athletic tape.

    I’m also running the Disney Princess Half. See you there!

  4. Thanks for the advice! I haven’t tried that yet. I don’t have Vaseline around, so I will probably try Body Glide for this week’s run.

  5. I thought so as well! Nobody needs to see that. Other than Mike, whom I’ve been making look at them all week.

  6. Half marathon training is the first thing to give me blisters, so I knew I wanted to get some information and share it with others. Is this your first half, too?

Comments are closed.

