• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Running with Karen

Saturday was a day all about running!  And I day when I forgot to take any pictures!

I met up with my Galloway group at Fleet Feet at 6:45 A.M. for a 4 mile run.

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 4.18 miles (I used Gmaps Pedometer)
  • Time: 50:48
  • Run 2/walk 1

I ate one slice of peanut butter toast before leaving.

While I was running, my friend Karen (who just started running!) was driving here from Orlando.  We met up at my house and got the Husband to watch her dog while we ran the bridge!

Run Stats:

  • Distance:  2 miles
  • Time: 25:00
  • Run 2/walk 1

Even though Karen is a beginning runner, she tackled the Ringling Bridge with style!  I am so proud of her running and the progress she has made so far.  I can’t wait to watch her cross the finish line at Disney’s Royal Family 5k!

The rest of Saturday, Karen and I bummed around Sarasota.  We went out to breakfast (pancakes at Word of Mouth), hit up Fleet Feet so she could get some running gear, and shopped in St. Armand’s Circle.  In the afternoon, we hung out at my house with her dog (Nomar, a Boston terrier) and went to dinner with the Husband.

Today was all about shopping; the Husband needed new jeans and I wanted to start shopping for summer shorts and sandals.  We had success!  He got new jeans and I got a SUPER cute pair of pink shorts.  I even bought a new headband, which is uncharacteristic for me because I never spent money on accessories.

On top of all this, I am still a bit sick.  My strep test turned out negative, but my throat is sore and my glands swollen.  The doctor wrote me an antibiotic prescription I can fill if I don’t kick this in a few days.  According to all my research, I was fine to run and didn’t feel any worse after.

Tonight I am planning to take it easy with a light dinner and maybe a glass of wine.  I have to get up early tomorrow – I am videotaping myself teaching a lesson which I have to turn in to the teacher for my reading endorsement class, so I need to be prepared!

Ooh, and two (I hope) Yoga in January reviews are coming this week to wrap up the month, with a new February theme coming soon.

