• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

First February Weekday Workout

Remember the post I wrote last night about dedicating February to Weekday Workouts?  Well, writing that post inspired me to start the month with a bang!

GEDC2562

I realized that it was only about 8:15 P.M. and the main thing keeping me from running was my blisters.  I thought about it and decided that blisters weren’t going to keep me from enjoying my run, so I zipped out the door!

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 2.8 miles
  • Time: 35:00
  • Run 2/walk 1

It felt good to run with my music, for myself and by myself.  I didn’t think about anything but running, which was glorious.  I ran from my house to the top of the Ringling Bridge and back, so the bridge slowed my pace but it was an enjoyable run.  Afterwards, I spent about 15 minutes stretching on the porch.  Yay!

GEDC2561

I’m looking forward to squeezing in some more midweek runs this month!

