• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Finding Motivation for a Long Run

I’m having one of those weeks.  I felt fired up earlier in the week, especially when I went out for my Monday night run.  By the middle of this week, I had kind of crashed and am feeling really out of sorts.  I haven’t had time to run or work out, which is okay because I am really committed to allowing these blisters to heal.

My most recent problem: I am dreading the 14 mile run I have scheduled for this Saturday.  That’s right, 14 miles!  It’s the longest run I have in my half marathon training plan; there was originally a 15–miler scheduled in two weeks, but I’m dropping it down to 10 miles because the Princess Half is two weeks after that and I have another half a week after that.

I feel very burnt out, stressed, and tired.  I know there’s no good reason for me to skip the run: I am not injured or sick, and I know that in the end, the run will make me feel less stressed.  Part of the stress is work-related, and part of it is running related.  I’ve been training for this race for five months and I’m in the home stretch – I’m just trying to make it to the finish line!  I’m feeling like I’ve been at this for a long time and I’m ready for the race to be here already!!

Here’s what I’m trying to do to keep motivated:

  1. Visualize myself running through the castle and crossing the finish line at Disney.
  2. Work on planning our Disney trip and focusing on having fun with my husband and friends, hanging out by the pool, and eating dinner at Roy’s.
  3. Get our shirts designed for the Princess Half and Sarasota Half (we have a super cute idea for the back of the shirt, but I need to come up with a design and get a price quite.)
  4. Highlight each run on my training plan as I complete it.

Anyone have tips for getting motivated for a really long run?  I sure could use some help!

One Response

  1. Hang in there!! This last bit of time before the big days will go very quickly. Hope that your 14 miles went well. Hugs!! M

Comments are closed.

