• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Three Weeks Left!

Brrr!  We’re in the middle of another cold snap in West Florida.  It was about 45 degrees and very windy when I left for my 4 mile run this morning, so I bundled up:

I wore my running shoes with SmartWool socks, a tech shirt, a half-zip, a long-sleeve tech shirt, a hat, and an ear band.  The wind actually died down during my run so I ended up being a little warm, but it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 4 miles
  • Time: 52 minutes
  • Run 2/walk 1

After my run (while I soaked in the tub with some Burt’s Bees therapeutic bath salts) I started re-reading Marathoning for Mortals by John “The Penguin” Bingham and Jenny Hadfield.  I first read this book over the summer when I was considering training for a half marathon and wanted more information, and it really inspired me to start. I wanted to post these few lines on here because I think they really summarize my attitude toward training:

“The most difficult part of the training program is getting to the starting line.  You much confront so many obstacles.  There are so many places for things to go wrong, so many times when you can give up and quit, that, if you are there when the gun goes off, you are already a different person than when you took your first training run.”

That chapter goes on to say that millions of other people have thought about walking or running in a long-distance race, but they are dreaming it while we are really doing it.  The authors write that getting through the training is a huge part of going the proverbial distance, and I believe it!  I’ve been training for this race for over five months, and I’m ready for it!

One Response

  1. That’s a great quote from that book!

Comments are closed.

