• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Home Stretch

This Sunday, I drew up a detailed training plan for the next four weeks.  With the Disney Princess Half Marathon less than three weeks away (YAY!) and the Sarasota Half a week after that, I’m really going to try to stick with the plan.  It includes:

  • One more long run – 10 miles on Sunday
  • Two short runs during each week
  • One day of cross training each week
  • Lots of rest, especially between the races

I’m also trying to get lots of rest and eat well – now is not the time to get sick!

I hit the road for a weekday run today – it was easy to fit in since I was off work today.  🙂

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 3.15 miles
  • Time:  37:30
  • Run 2/walk 1

After my run, I did some serious stretching for about 15 minutes.  I did some usual running stretches, lots of hip stretches (my right hip is still sore), and a few moves from Perfect Post-Run Yoga.

On my run, I ran into Mackenzie, one of the owners of Fleet Feet Sarasota, who was out for a walk, and I also ran into Pat, the other owner, when I ran past Fleet Feet.  I saw lots of friendly faces of people from around my neighborhood and runners I know from Fleet Feet.  That’s why I like living in Sarasota!

My day off was very busy with chores around the house (cleaning, laundry, groceries), so I am planning to relax and watch the Winter Olympics tonight, which is pretty much what I did all day yesterday.  Is anyone else loving the Olympics?  The Husband and I are watching it nonstop!  I like figure skating the best, and the Husband has been trying to watch all the luge and skiing events.

One Response

  1. Good luck with the prep for your double. Great post and looking forward to seeing your race reports.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

Comments are closed.

