• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Weekday Short Runs

Sorry I haven’t updated this week – I’ve been focusing on running!  I actually got a short run in on Thursday in a brand new running shirt:

I am somewhat active on the Running of the Ears (ROTE) boards and was able to order a “Mouskirteers” shirt!  The Mouskirteers are basically a group of gals who love to run Disney and love to run wearing skirts.  Needless to say, I fit in pretty well.  🙂  The shirt is one of those cotton/polyester blends, so I wouldn’t wear it for long runs.  I will definitely wear it on short runs, to cheerleading practice, around the house on weekends, and at Disney World!  The back has a cute design with a girl in a skirt running past Cinderella’s castle – which I will be doing in two short weeks!!!

Thursday Run Stats:

  • Distance:  2.4 miles
  • Time:  30 minutes
  • Run 2/walk 1

Plans for Disney are in full swing!  I am just waiting for our 10 day window so I can use Disney’s online check-in service to check in to our resort and start watching the weather forecast for race day!  I went to Fleet Feet today and bought enough orange GU Chomps to get me through tomorrow’s long run and both half marathons.

Our weekend is pretty busy: besides tomorrow’s long run, I did lots of baking (bread is my new thing) and shopping today.  Found a cute, cheap dress at Target, which never happens to me because of my busty body shape.  Tomorrow after my run we are potentially going to the Sarasota Parade of Homes because I like to look at houses.

Tonight is going to involve baked potatoes, asparagus, and tomato soup for dinner, wine, and a movie with the Husband.  Have a great Saturday night, everyone!

