• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

No More Double Digits

Hello Everyone!  Happy Thursday!  I had my last long run this weekend; my goal was to do 10 miles, but it didn’t quite happen that way.

My Galloway training group was debating about 10 or 12 miles, but my friend Sue was under the weather and only wanted to do 8.  I wasn’t about to let her head back by herself (I hate leaving a friend during a run, whether on or off the race course) so I turned around with her at about mile 4 and ran back.  I had planned to do about 2 more miles by myself around Fleet Feet, but my blisters were bothering me so much that I only did one more!

I’m a little bummed I didn’t make it to double digits for my last training run, but I have done two 10 mile runs, two 12 mile runs, and a 13 mile run.  I feel prepared for the race!!

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 9.4 miles
  • Time:  1:02 or something close to that
  • Run 2/walk 1

I was really, really slow at the end because of my blister pain.  The Husband superglued all the open blisters before I left to prevent further damage or infection, but that didn’t keep them from hurting!  However, after the run I did some serious stretching and drank a watermelon After Glow from Pat at Fleet Feet…. My blisters kept bothering me, but I felt well enough to walk around the Sarasota Parade of Homes all day and then go out for a burger and drink with the Husband!  🙂  (My drink of choice: a strawberry mango rum something.  Yum!)

This week has been too crazy to run, believe it or not.  A school soccer game and a long staff meeting have thwarted my plans and now – I’m sick!  I woke up with a scratchy throat and stuffy head this morning.  (Should have seen it coming – I have been tired, achy, and thirsty lately.)  I headed into work with the intent of leaving ASAP, but it’s 2:00 and I’m still here.  I am definitetly taking tomorrow off – I have to heal before next week’s race, and I don’t want to take any chances!

Here are my strategies for trying not to be sick:

  1. Fluids!  I had a huge mug of tea this morning and I have sucked down a whole Nalgene (32 oz.) of water today.  I’ll drink a lot of water at home tonight, too.  (Fun fact: although I would never drink this normally, when I am sick I love to drink Hi-C Fruit Punch.   From a juice box, NOT the bottle.  I know, it’s weird.)
  2. Rest!  When I’m sick, I sleep as much as possible and take it easy at work.
  3. Healthy foods!  I make sure to eat extra healthy when I’m feeling sick so I can provide my body with proper nutrition.
  4. Ice cream and a good book.  Might as well make the best of things.  😉

Before waking up sick this morning, my goal was to bang out the 3 miles I had planned for yesterday, today.  This is probably not going to happen, but I’m hoping to be up to speed (har, har) for my last short group training run on Saturday if I rest tomorrow.

We’ll see!

