• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Countdown to Disney: 5 Days!

Good morning!  Despite my illness, I got up to do 4 miles with my Galloway girls this morning.  Other than being sniffly and blowing my nose on every walk interval, I felt pretty good.  Now, post-run, I’m feeling kind of tired and achey, but I know that getting up and active was the right thing to do.

I have no run stats for you because I didn’t wear my watch.  I can tell you that we did 4 miles in run 2/walk 1 intervals, but I have no idea how long it took.  😦

While the Husband is at work on this rainy Saturday, I have lots of projects to work on!  These top secret projects are all related to our Disney Princess Half Marathon trip next weekend and will be revealed in good time.  😉

Meanwhile, I’ve been thinking about taper.  Some more experienced runners keep themselves in “half marathon shape” year-round and thus don’t go into taper for a race.  Being my first half marathon, I am going through a taper period.  According to Marathoning for Mortals:

The taper is when you start backing off your mileage and intensity in preparation for the big day.  For most programs, this will be the last 3 weeks.  Those 3 weeks are emotionally difficult even if they are physically easy.

Marathoning for Mortals also talks about the effect of “Taper Madness,” which basically means you don’t want to run, but DO want to spend lots of money on new running stuff.  (This, they say, is why we have race expos!)  In all seriousness, though, Marathoning for Mortals offers some great taper tips:

  1. Spend time thoroughly packing for the race.  Bingham’s advice is to take everything; I usually settle for everything I need for the race plus a backup outfit.  (Though I did famously forget both underwear and my hydration belt for Disney’s Race for the Taste…)
  2. Don’t make any changes to what you eat.  Stick with healthy, familiar foods.  I’ve been chowing down on lots of whole grains and vegetables lately because I know those work for me.
  3. Stay hydrated during the week leading up to the race.  Lately, I’ve been committing myself to drinking my whole 32 oz. Nalgene full of water every day.  This sometimes doesn’t happen on busy days, so I’ve been making an extra effort as my race approaches.

Here are a few good online articles about taper:

I’m off to get cracking on my plans for the day, which include lots of rest, writing lesson plans, and working on Disney projects!

One Response

  1. Allison,
    I had to check our your blog – LOVE it! Best of luck to you, Whitney & Sue this weekend at the Disney Princess. See at the Grouper~

    Liz

Comments are closed.

