• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend, Part 1

Welcome to my Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend race report!  Tonight, I’m going to write about my experiences attending the Fit for a Princess Expo and also watching my friend Karen finish her first race at the Royal Family 5.

On Friday, I was able to sneak out of work just after lunch so we could start our weekend early!  I rushed home to pack, eat lunch, and hit the road with the Husband.  We managed to be on the road to Disney by about 2:30 in the afternoon, earlier than I had hoped!  We arrived at Disney’s Fit for a Princess Expo around 4:30 right as an Atlanta Braves game at the ESPN Wide World of Sports, where the expo was also being held, was letting out.  Parking was crazy!  However, we got a spot and headed into the expo with no troubles at all.

Here’s me being super excited to pick up my half marathon packet:

I wore my Mouskirteers shirt to represent at the expo, but didn’t run into any other skirt girls from ROTE!  Oh well.  I picked up my packet with my race number right away and then got my goody bag with t-shirt.

The Husband was happy and patient while I shopped around all the official race merchandise and other booths.  He was surprised by the sheer size of the event:

I didn’t find any cute gear, but I liked looking at some new running skirts.  I also registered for a race coming up in April!  (More on that soon…)

The expo was really fun, but I was looking forward to checking into our resort and going out for dinner the most!  My stomach was rumbling during the expo, although I did grab a couple pieces of a jazz apple (they had a booth there) to tide me over.  I don’t normally like apples, but those jazz apples are great!

We stayed at Disney’s Port Orleans Riverside resort this weekend because they are a host hotel for the race.  This resort is gorgeous!

We spent Friday evening exploring our resort and taking the boat to Downtown Disney for dinner at Raglan Road, an Irish pub we always enjoy when we are at Disney.  We called it a night early, though, because we had an early morning planned!

Our Saturday began at 5:30 A.M.!  We enjoyed breakfast at our resort food court (we used the Disney Dining Plan during this trip and really enjoyed our resort refillable mugs!) and then drove to Epcot to watch my friend Karen run in her first race!

She was running in Disney’s Royal Family 5k, which was also my first race ever:

My Royal Family 5k, March 7, 2009

Karen said that her main goal for this race was to beat my time from last years race, and she did it, too!  She is much faster than me already.  I’m so proud of Karen for taking this step in her running journey.  It’s really awesome to know that my little decision to start running in January 2009 has created this chain reaction that has enabled me to make so many new friends and inspire others.  (Incidentally, Karen will be joining me on the next step in my running journey.  Again, more later…)

I made that sign for Karen’s race because I remembered how special I felt when the Husband made signs for me last year.  The back of this sign instructed the spectators behind me to cheer for Karen, and it had her bib number on it so everyone would know who to cheer for!  🙂  We had trouble spotting Karen during the race because we hadn’t asked about her wardrobe plans, but then the Husband spotted her Red Sox hat.  (She’s a big Boston fan – her dog is named Nomar.)

The Husband and I spent most of the day on Saturday at Hollywood Studios (yay for Extra Magic Hours – we rode Toy Story Mania twice!) and then hanging around our resort.  It wasn’t warm enough to take a dip in the pool, though.  😦  On Saturday night, we met up with my running buddies.  We grabbed dinner with Sue’s family and I also visited Whitney’s hotel room to drop off her shirt.

I hit the sack by 9:00 on Saturday night because my alarm was set for 2:45 A.M. on Sunday morning!

Half marathon race report coming up tomorrow.  🙂

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for coming!

  2. We are proud of you–and anxious to see more pics from the big event. ❤

  3. great posts on the WDW Princess…I was there too – it was such a blast!! hope to be there again next year. Congrats on your other 1/2 as well!! That’s awesome!!

  4. Oh, I’ll be back next year, too! It was such a fun race.

Comments are closed.

