• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Race Announcement: Aflac Iron Girl 15k

I’m back with a race announcement!

I kind of thought that these half marathons would be the end of my race “season,” even though the season has only involved a 10k, a 5k fun run, and two half marathons.  Then, I heard about the Aflac Iron Girl in Clearwater on April 10.  The event seemed like a lot of fun, so I signed up for the 15k!

I actually signed up at the Princess Expo because I could save the Active.com fees and get an extra tech shirt, which is pretty sweet.  I’ve never run a 15k before, but a 9.3 mile distance seems perfect.  Also, having just run back-to-back half marathons, I think a 15k one month later should work out okay: I can begin with some recovery runs and just kind of maintain my currently level.

The best part?  My friend Karen, the “newbie” runner, is going to join me!  She ran her first 5k on March 6 and is training for this 15k.  I’m excited to run with her!  She’s had some shin splint troubles lately, and I hope she’s up and running (ha, ha) again soon!

Having another race on the horizon is really helping to fight off my post-race blues.  Sure, I’m bummed to be done with my half marathons, since they have been the focus of my training since September.  But, I have a fun race with Karen (and maybe Whitney and/or Sue?) to look forward to!

Thinking about trying a 15k?  If you have more time to train than we do, check out Hal Higdon’s training plans!

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a good race to do. I didn’t even see them at the Expo, but my head was spinning from chasing down my 2 year old (sans stroller). Good luck to you!

  2. I’ve always wanted to do an IronGirl event. I can’t wait to hear how it goes. Good luck!

Comments are closed.

