• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Back From Vacation

Hello, everyone!  I’m back from a week at Disney with my family and some of our friends.  We had a great time!  I was kind of sick the whole time and there is nowhere good to run where we were staying (I know since I used to live there), but I did manage to hit the hotel gym on two separate occasions for 30-minute bike rides.

The Aflac Iron Girl 15k in Clearwater is in just six days, so I knew I needed to get in a run this weekend!  Between traveling, work stuff, sickness, and my knee recovery, I haven’t been running more than once a week and no more than four miles.  So, I called my friend Sue and we hit the pavement this morning!

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 6 miles
  • Time: 1:20
  • Run 2/walk 1 (except we cheated and walked some of the bridge and walked the last half mile – I was feeling hot and sluggish)

Lessons learned: Do not leave for a 6 mile run at 9:00 A.M. in April in Florida.  It is too hot!  I love to sleep in, but in the warmer months, I need to get out the door by 6:30 or 7:00 to run in cooler temperatures.

On the plus side, I have a cute new pink New Balance tank top that I ran in this morning and it was super comfortable!  I think I’ll race in it next weekend so everyone can see pictures.  🙂

I’m looking forward to Saturday’s 15k with my friend Karen, but I need to do some serious planning this week regarding packet pick-up, how I’m getting to Clearwater, etc.  I need to go into race mode!

Sorry to make this short and sweet, but it’s my birthday (yay!) and we are going to the beach today.  Gotta go!

2 Responses

  1. Good luck in your race next weekend!

  2. Thank you! Even though I did two half marathons in March, I’m feeling like a 15k is going to be a HUGE challenge. I guess that’s mostly BECAUSE I did two half marathons in March and I’ve been trying to recover and stay in shape all at the same time. It’s been tough.

Comments are closed.

