• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

5:05 A.M. Run

I did something today that I normally hate to do: I ran in the morning.  Now, some of us are morning runners.  Some people like to run on their lunch hour, though I have no idea how they accomplish this.  (Where and how do you shower after, people?!  I have never understood this routine.  Maybe because I only get 30 minutes for lunch?)  And some runners, like myself, enjoy an evening run.

With my schedule, I get up early enough (between 6:00 and 6:30 A.M.) and leave for work early enough (usually around 7:15) that a morning run means I need to wake up at 5:00.  I find this difficult to justify; it’s very dark at 5:00 in the morning and I don’t live in the world’s safest area.  That made me an evening runner by default, and I like it.  I enjoy getting out after a long day and pounding out my stress on the pavement.

However, I’ve been super busy lately and working late, which means I haven’t been getting in my runs.  With a race coming up this weekend (Aflac Iron Girl 15k in Clearwater) I needed to get some short runs in, which is why my alarm went off at 5:05 A.M. today!

Run Stats:

  • Distance:  3.4 miles (thank you, Gmaps Pedometer)
  • Time: 39:58
  • Run 2/walk 1

Plus, I sat on our porch and did some serious stretching after – my legs have been feeling tight since I haven’t run much lately.  I don’t feel particularly energized and ready to tackle my day like I sometimes do after a morning run.  I just feel tired.  This is bad because I have a looooong day ahead of me: work and then class from 4:30-7:30.  Yikes!

Are you a morning runner, a lunch hour runner, or an evening runner?  Tell why you like to run at that particularly time of day, or why it works for your schedule!

5 Responses

  1. I run whenever I can. That is usually in the mornings, but not as my training miles are getting higher there’s not enough time before work, so it takes planning and creativity to get it all in.

  2. Have you tried mapmyrun.com? It’s just like gmap pedometer, but you can actually SAVE your runs and keep track of them (you can reuse them, put in the calendar, it’ll calculate your pace, it’ll total up your mileage for the week/month/year…).

    I now use a Garmin, but LOVED mapmyrun on my pre-Garmin days.

    I’m definitely an evening runner, but love long runs because it’s nice to know that you’re done and don’t have to worry about it after work. But waking up is SO HARD TO DO, that I never end up running in the morning, except for the weekends.

    I used to run at lunch time (my building does have a shower/lockers), but the timing gets kind of tight, and I hate eating lunch at my desk…

  3. I am typically an evening runner as well. I don’t want to get up any earlier than I already have to and it doesn’t work well with my son’s schedule either. However, I love how I feel after I’ve completed a morning race.

  4. You said it: planning and creativity!

  5. I’m a morning runner. If I don’t get it done then, it doesn’t get done! But it’s usually around 8:30-9:00 that I get going, because I’m a SAHM and get most of my house stuff done before then. Good for you for getting out whenever you can.

Comments are closed.

