• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

No Races on the Schedule?!

This morning I hit the road with my buddy Sue for a run.  I had told her to meet me at Fleet Feet at 8:00 and that she could decide the distance.

Not knowing how far we’d run, I packed for all eventualities, grabbing not only my running shoes and Burt’s Bees, but also my tactical hydration system (a.k.a. water belt) and some GU:

GEDC2810

I met up with Sue in the Fleet Feet parking lot, which was a little empty on a Sunday morning.  She was eager to show off her new mini van!  We snapped a couple of pictures:

GEDC2813

GEDC2814 

Sue decided on a 5-miler, which I fully supported.  We ran from Fleet Feet to the top of the Ringling Causeway and back.

Run Stats:

  • Distance: 4.8 miles
  • Time: 60 minutes
  • Run 2/walk 1

I don’t have an exact time because I was running my interval timer and not the stopwatch.  I’ll have to start running both during our runs!  It was fun to catch up with Sue and hear about her life – she just adopted a third dog!

After our run, the Husband and I went out for breakfast at Word of Mouth, where I attempted to eat two buckwheat pancakes.  Should have ordered just one.  🙂

Now, onto other things…. Where have I been all week, you ask?  I’ve been BUSY!  Here’s what’s going on:

  • Getting ready for end-of-the-year activities at school, like honors assemblies, fundraisers, field days, and field trips.  Also figuring out logistics for the fall, like class lists, hiring, schedules, and supply list.
  • Coaching cheerleading: my girls started doing one-leg stunts this week!

GEDC2801

  • I am finally decorating our bedroom.  It’s been a mis-matched mess since we got married because we worked so hard on our living/dining rooms.  I finally bought a new quilt that fits the style of our home, and the Husband is building me a headboard… It is designed to “match” my blue Ikea dresser and will eventually be a yellow color called honey butter.  Here it is in progress:

GEDC2815 

  • Saturday, I was at an all-day work conference.  I met the teachers with whom I will be consulting in June!  (I have accepted an educational consulting position with the company that developed my school’s curriculum delivery model.)  I also got to spend time with my coworkers and teachers from other schools and got lots of new ideas for my classroom!

GEDC2807

Whew!  I’ve been busy.  :)  This explains why I haven’t run this week until today.  I’ve been feeling kind of lethargic because when I get home, I have more work to do and then I want to relax.  It’s hard to run now that I don’t have any races that I am actively training for.

That, however, is about to change because on May 1, a new Galloway training program starts at Fleet Feet Sarasota!  This will be another 26-week training program that targets fall marathons and half marathons.  I’m so excited to have a group to run with again!

Although I’m not signed up or committed to anything yet, here are some upcoming races I am considering:

  • Lakeshore Miracle Run, July 10, 2010: This race is in my hometown in Michigan when we are visiting this summer.  It’s a 10k trail run and the Husband is tentatively considering entering and running with our friend Josh and anyone else we can talk into it!
  • Maine Half Marathon, October 3, 2010:  We started looking for a destination half marathon somewhere fun in October, and discovered how inexpensive it is to fly to Portland and how fun it looks.  We’re thinking of turning this into a fall four-day weekend!
  • Women’s Half Marathon, November 28, 2010:  Sponsored by Women’s Running Magazine and run in St. Petersburg, this is a nearby race with a cool course and great swag bag.  I’m pretty sure I’ll register for this.
  • Disney Marathon, January 9, 2011:  If I train properly, I know I could do a marathon, and if I only ever do one, it has to be the Mickey Marathon!  Although this race is pricey, I feel like I have to do it.

I’m sure I’ll throw in a number of other local races, too, but those are the “big ones” that are tentatively on the race calendar.  Husband and I are still trying to make a decision about a fall destination race, but I think it’s a great idea and I just need to pick a race.  The Maine Half Marathon is currently in the lead!

I don’t want to look like a slacker at the Galloway Training kick-off this Saturday at Fleet Feet, so I set a goal for this week of running at least twice.  Wish me luck!

6 Responses

  1. Maybe I’ll be seeing you at the Disney Marathon!

  2. We definitely support getting the Husband to run with you and Josh.

    Great pics! Nice headboard…and the bed pic with comforter soon to follow?

    M

  3. Mike, that headboard is looking SWEET!

  4. Yes! As soon as he paints the headboard and the blanket chest, we are FINALLY going to take house pictures. 🙂

  5. I will pass on the compliment. I really, really like it and the yellow we picked out is really nice. (My subscription to Better Homes & Gardens that Mary gave me is coming in handy all over the place!)

  6. Yes! I read that you were thinking of a marathon in January and I was assuming it was Disney. It’s very convenient to live in Celebration and run Disney.

Comments are closed.

