• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Stressing and Indulging

Like a lot of other bloggers I read, I have been two things lately:  stressed out and indulgent.  School had kept me busy and stressed, so I haven’t been eating all the healthy things in my lunchbox lately.  (Not that I’m eating junk, either – I’m skipping eating at school, which is bad news.)  Also, we’ve had a bit of money lately, so we’ve been eating out a lot.  This is bad because it’s not healthy and we could find better things to spend it on or, better yet, save it for!

I’m going to write down some goals for the next month, which is the end of the school year followed directly by my three-day educational consulting trip to Kentucky.

  1. Run 2 times per week:  long run on the weekends, and one weekday run.
  2. Cross-train 2 times per week.  (This should be easy because I just picked up my summer gym membership again.)
  3. Eat a fruit and a vegetable every day.  I have been relying too much on peanut butter, granola bars, and yogurt instead of eating fresh snacks.
  4. Limit restaurant patronage.

I know these goals don’t seem lofty (6th grade vocabulary word!) but I feel they will present a challenge, especially right now when I am up to my eyeballs in work.

I definitely plan to re-adjust my goals for the summer; I do a lot of my best training in the summer purely because I have a flexible schedule when I’m not teaching all day, every day.

What are your fitness goals for the next month?  Are you like me – struggling to get by?  Or are you excited to embark on a new journey?  (Okay, that’s me, too, since I just registered for the Disney Marathon!)

2 Responses

  1. I totally feel your pain! I’m about to head over to whole foods to get some stuff to make a week worth of lunches! I hate that I let myself go in and out of my good eating habits!

  2. I have recovered a bit lately, though. I had a big spinach salad with red pepper, carrots, and onions for dinner last night, and some BBQ chicken with corn on the cob and zucchini for lunch that day. Today a munched on peanut butter English Muffins. string cheese, yogurt and Kashi, and an apple. I did have a homemade burger for dinner, but it was paired with broccoli. 🙂 Balance, right?!

Comments are closed.

