• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Can You Be Healthy When Traveling for Business?

I’m sorry it’s been ten days since I posted!  I was traveling for work last week to the lovely city of Bowling Green, Kentucky where I was conducting a three-day training for their middle school teachers.  I had so much fun in Bowling Green, more than one might expect on a business trip, because of their southern hospitality.  The teachers took me to some great restaurants (and a cupcake shop!), and I found some totally wonderful local businesses.  I can’t wait to go back, which I will probably be doing since I am consulting with them throughout the year.

While most of my exercise while traveling involved walking around airports, I did get in two good workouts on Saturday, my last day in BG.  By Friday, traveling was taking its toll and I needed a good stretch, so I found yogaLOFT and headed to a vinyasa flow class on Saturday morning.  It was the perfect combination of relaxation and stretching with a fairly vigorous workout – I was definitely sweating!  I will be back at yogaLOFT when I’m in BG again!

On Saturday I also went on a 2-mile hike at Lost River Cave – I wanted to go on a Cave Tour, but there were no spots available, so I never actually went into the cave.  :(  When I’m next in Kentucky, I want to either do this cave tour or build in time to drive to Mammoth Cave National Park, about 45 minute from Bowling Green.

My Overall Tips for Healthy Business Travel

  1. Pack or shop for snacks.  When I first got to Kentucky, I went to Target and picked up apples, granola bars, and pita chips.  I brought fruit and granola bars to snack on during training, and ate the pita chips while vegging in my hotel room in the evenings.  (Twilight was totally on Showtime the first night I was there!)
  2. Check out local food options.  Try using Local Harvest to find restaurants serving local foods where you are traveling, or farmer’s markets where you can grab snacks.  If nobody serves local foods, start looking for locally owned restaurants with healthy fare.  Two great finds on my trip were Greener Groundz, a coffee shop and cafe in downtown BG that had fair trade coffee and tea along with vegan baked goods, and Spencer’s Coffeehouse.
  3. Research local recreation.  Local tourism and chamber of commerce websites can help you find gyms and yoga studios, while parks and recreation departments can point the way to bike paths and hiking trails.  I had a rental car in Kentucky, so I could go pretty much anywhere, and with internet in my hotel room, great recreation options were easy to find.  A quick search for “yoga bowling green” led me to a variety of options, and although I didn’t go running, the Kentucky Greenways website helped me find some good routes.
  4. If you are a runner, find the local running club’s website.  Before I left, I checked out the Bowling Green Road Runners Club website along with Fleet Feet Nashville to get information about running in the area.  These groups can help you find safe places to run, and most groups welcome visitors to weekly fun runs.  Just ask!
  5. Ask the locals about healthy options for food and recreation.  I hinted to my awesome group of sixth grade teachers that I was a pretty healthy eater, so they took me to local cafes for lunch that served healthy fare.  I ate plenty of soups, baked potatoes, and salads, which was perfect healthy traveling food.  And, they were the ones who suggested Lost River Cave for my Saturday hike!  If you don’t have internet access on your trip, this is the best way to get tips.
  6. If all else fails, get up a half hour early and use the hotel gym!  I didn’t use my hotel gym at all since I was exhausted from training, but most have at least a treadmill for walking or running.  No gym?  Pack a swimsuit and paddle around the pool!

Now I’m home with nothing on the schedule until we leave for Michigan next Wednesday.  I’m looking forward to getting in running, swimming, or yoga every day until then.  I am already enjoying being home during the day to whip up healthy lunches: today I ate whole wheat spaghetti with tomato cream sauce and a big bowl of parmesan roasted broccoli (best recipe I’ve tried in a while!).

What are your tips for healthy business travel?

